Mighty Mighty EP release set for this Saturday

Mighty Mighty are a local Raglan band, originally formed in 2015. The band started out playing classic funk cover tracks from the likes of James Brown, Sly and the Family Stone, Maceo Parker etc.

With their regular appearances at the Raglan Yot Club, they managed to hone their set, and began to gel with each other musically, so the band grew tighter and more confident in their approach to becoming a solid live act. Over the years, the audiences began to grow along with the band’s popularity (especially with the local crowd), and they have been playing to a packed house on numerous occasions. They have also appeared at Raglan’s Soundsplash festival and Christmas in the Park.

Band members include Boyd Dixon on drums, Odhran Devlin on Bass, Cameron Olsen on guitar, Greg Taylor on keyboards, and newest member, Deli Kaukau, on lead vocals. Each member has played and performed professionally for numerous years in various different outfits, and play an active part in the wider Waikato music scene with performance and teaching.


Recently, the band decided they would have a go at writing some original material, growing marginally away from the “one chord funk” style, and incorporating more jazz, disco and electronic styles into their sound, which definitely gives a heavy nod to the likes of Stevie Wonder, Prince, Michael Jackson, and more modern artists such as Jamiroquai, Orgone, and Vulfpeck.

During November 2017, the band began to record their first 3-track EP ‘Funked Up Paradise’, at Twisty Pole Studios in Rotorua. Initially laying down the drums and bass tracks, they then went on to record the guitars, keys and vocals during various sessions at Raglan Old School Art’s Centre, and using the technical know-how and gadgetry of long-time Raglan local Andy Webb.

The EP also features the 3-piece horn section of Bill Forrest (sax), Grant Mason (trumpet) and Greg Taylor (trombone), with percussion coming from Freddy Limbert. The overall sound of the EP could be described as big, bold, groovy, and designed to make you dance!

The band will release the EP at their next gig at the Yot Club, on  June 23.

There is a $15 door charge which will include a download card from which to download the EP.  Doors open at 9.30pm with support from B-Rex.